Broccoli Pesto with Vermicelli Recipe

 

In our house, we have pasta at least once a week.  Here is a recipe to change up any plan pasta recipe:

 

What You Will Need:

–   1 package of vermicelli

–   4 cups of broccoli

–   ½ cup of parsley leaves

–   ½ cup of slivered almonds

–   2 Tbsp of olive oil

–   2 cloves of minced garlic

–   ½ tsp of salt

–   ½ tsp of pepper

–   1 ½ cups of sliced roasted red peppers

–   1 cup of red grape tomatoes

–   ½ cup of grated romano cheese (or any cheese you would prefer, sometimes I will use mozzarella cheese)

 

What You Will Need to do:

1.   Blanch broccoli in boiling salted water for 3 minutes; reserve 1 1/2 cups cooking water before draining.

2.   Mix the broccoli, parsley, half the almonds and the garlic in a food processor.  Pulse until everything has become fine.

3.   Next, slowly pour in 1/2 cup reserved cooking water and the olive oil until mixture is smooth. Add the salt and pepper.

4.   While you are completing steps 2 and 3, cook the pasta as indicated on the package.

5.   Toss the pesto and about 1 cup of the remaining cooking water with hot to the cooked pasta.

6.   Add roasted red peppers, tomatoes and cheese and toss to combine.

7.   Garnish with remaining toasted almonds and enjoy

 

About Dino
There are many things that I love to do. One of those things is crafts! If I could find a job that involved crafts and being able to pay the bills, I'd be all over it! I've also found a great love for cooking and baking in the past few years. Sometimes there doesn't seem to be enough time in the day to be able to fully get into cooking and baking to the degree that I would like to. I've also found myself making a HUGE effort to save my family money. I'm still a beginner but I'm surprised at how many different ways I've found to save money, including starting to use coupons! I hope you enjoy all that I'm about to share.

Leave a comment